

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Electric Vehicles

Extraordinary General Meeting 15th July 2019 at 14:30 - Minutes

15th July 2019 at 14:30 Committee Room 19, Palace of Westminster, SW1A, London

Attendees

- Matt Western MP(Lab)
- Mark Pawsey MP (Con)
- Alex Sobel MP (Lab)
- Sharon Hodgson (Lab)
- Tony Lloyd (Lab)
- Marcus Jones (Con)
- Frank Gordon, Renewable Energy Association (Secretariat)
- Hayley Allen, Renewable Energy Association (Secretariat)

Apologies:

- Rebecca Pow MP (Con)
- Baroness Ros Altman MP (Con)
- Ian Austin MP (Independent)
- Andrew Selous MP (Con)
- Dame Cheryl Gillan MP (Con)
- Stephen Metcalfe (Con)

Welcome and apologies (Chaired by Alex Sobel MP) (14:35pm)

The Chair and group recorded condolences be sent to Rebecca Pow MP on her recent bereavement and a note of thanks for excellent chairing of the group.

Introduction and review of the previous year by Frank Gordon REA (secretariat) – (14:40pm)

Events: Summer Reception (Theme: The Electrification and Automation of Transport Post-Brexit) and panel event Price Caps and Time-of-Use Tariffs: How EV charging is changing with smart electricity supplies.

The decision to remove 'Autonomous' from the group's title in March 2019 was discussed. It was reiterated that this decision had been made due to the regulatory requirements and the agenda for electric and autonomous vehicles becoming increasingly diverged. Renaming the group to concentrate on Electric vehicles allows for greater focus.

It was restated that an array of vehicles ranging from heavy goods vehicles to trains and boats can be discussed within the group under its intended remit. The APPG has previously hosted a presentation and discussion on electric buses for example.

Discussion of future 2019/2020 activities (14:50pm)

Alex Sobel outlined a key question to be tackled in the work of the APPG: why does the UK lag so far behind Norway in EV sales rates? (Norwegian car sales being 55% electric in the past year)

An event discussing electric bikes and the role they will play was discussed. One example being that Germany had fifteen times greater e-bike sales. Tony Lloyd also raised the cost differential and the issue there, and how it could be adapted or overcome. Alex Sobel expressed a desire to address the current e-scooters issues (eg the legality of road use) in an event of this description.

Election of Chair (15:05pm)

Sharon Hodgson moves that Matt Western becomes Chair of the APPG on Electric Vehicles.

Tony Lloyd seconds the proposal.

A vote was held and Matt Western was unanimously elected as Chair of the APPG on Electric Vehicle.

AOB (15:10pm)

Alex Sobel thanked all for attending and closed the meeting with there being no other business to discuss.

Event concluded (15:15pm)

Please send questions or comments to Hayley Allen at the Renewable Energy Association – <u>hallen@r-e-a.net</u> or call 020 7981 0862.

Minutes produced by the REA, the group's secretariat.