• REA announces winners of the British Renewable Energy Awards
  • The awards celebrated the ‘Best of British’
  • Winners include Octopus Energy, Pivot Power and the Foresight Group


The winners of the REA’s 2020 British Renewable Energy Awards have been announced.

The 15th year of the UK’s most prestigious event in the renewable energy calendar honoured the very ‘Best of British’, with the virtual event taking place on Tuesday, 26th January 2021.

The awards demonstrated the amazing work undertaken on the road to net zero and celebrated the achievements of companies and individuals who have done something fantastic in renewables or clean technology over the past year.

The winners of this year’s awards were: BetaTalk Podcast; Egni Sir Gâr Cyfyngedig; Octopus Energy; Social Energy; Triodos; Pivot Power; The Phoenix Works; Foresight Group; GENeco; H.D. Services; Electron; OnGen; Keenan Recycling; Laura Hepburn from Greenology and the Climate Assembly UK.


Dr Nina Skorupska CBE, Chief Executive of the Association for Renewable Energy and Clean Technology (REA), said:

“This year could be a momentous one for our industry, with COP26 having the potential to be a watershed moment in our drive towards net zero.

 “What better way, then, to start 2021 with a celebration of the brilliant work of so many organisations and individuals in our renewable energy and clean technology sectors.

“I would also like to reiterate my thanks to all our incredible judges who had to make such difficult decisions in choosing winners from such a strong field of finalists this year.

 “We have so much to be proud of as an industry and these winners, and indeed all of our finalists, represent the very ‘Best of British’.”


A range of influential and respected renewable energy industry figures joined the panel this year and included:


Martin Wright, Chairman of REA & Aurora Ventures

Dame Fiona Woolf DBE, DStJ, DL;

Philip Sellwood CBE, Non-Executive Director, Charity Trustee & UK Government representative on energy efficiency;

Laura Sandys CBE, Challenging Ideas;

Prof. Patricia Thornley, Director of the European Bioenergy Research Institute, Aston University;

Dr Rhian-Mari Thomas OBE, Chief Executive, Green Finance Institute;

Dr Jonathan Scurlock, Chief Policy Adviser, Renewable Energy and Climate Change, National Farmers Union;

Tom Delay, Chief Executive, The Carbon Trust;

Emma Bridge, Chief Executive Community Energy England;

The Baroness Verma, House of Lords, Independent Non Executive Director (NED) on REA Board;

Michelle Davies, International Head of Clean Energy and Sustainability, Eversheds-Sutherland;

Fintan Slye, Director of the Electricity System Operator, National Grid ESO;

Andy Hadland, Chief Product Officer, Arenko Group;

Dr Douglas Parr, Chief Scientist and Policy Director at Greenpeace UK;

Dr Sarah Redwood, Director, Renewable Energy Deployment, BEIS;

Virginia Graham OBE, Chief Executive of REAL;

Richard Simon-Lewis, Head of Origination, Marketing & Communications, UK Export Finance.

The BREAwards 2020 Judging Panel


The full list of the awards and their finalists are as follows:


Communications Award 

betaTalk Podcast – WINNER

Low Carbon Homes – (Highly Commended)


Community Award 

Egni Sir Gâr Cyfyngedig – WINNER

Ferry Farm Community Solar – (Highly Commended)


Company Award 

Capital Dynamics

JLEN Environmental Assets Group

NatWest Group

Octopus Energy – WINNER

Photon Energy



Customer Service Recognition Award 

Octopus Energy

Social Energy – WINNER


Financial Leadership Award 

NatWest Group

Privilege Finance

Triodos Bank – WINNER


Innovation Award 

Freeland Scientific


Hubject GmbH

Pivot Power – WINNER



Installer Award 

The Phoenix Works – WINNER


Leadership Award 

Foresight Group – WINNER

Ocado Group



Low Carbon Transport Award 


Ocado Group – (Highly Commended)


Pioneer Award 

H.D. Services – WINNER

Lynemouth Power – (Highly Commended)


Project Award 

Adapt BioGas (formerly BioCow)

Capital Dynamics

Electron – WINNER

GreenFlux – (Highly Commended)

Hark – (Highly Commended)

JV Energen

The Phoenix Works

Weltec Biopower



Smart Energy System Award 

Energy Networks Association



Sustainability Award 

4R Group

Capital Dynamics

Gegan Solutions


Green Eco Technologies

Keenan Recycling – WINNER

NatWest Group


Young RE Professional Award 

Electron (Isabel Sunnucks) – (Highly Commended)

EVA Global (Donald Hopper)

Farm Renewables (Sam Waite)

Foresight Group (Henry Morgan)

Greenology (Laura Hepburn) – WINNER

MacQuarie (Edmund Robins)

NatWest Group (Lyudmil Banev)

OnGen (Izzy Rich)

Osprey Charging (formerly Engenie, Lewis Gardiner)

Solidsense (Thomas Aspray)

Sunamp (Kieran Doak)- (Highly Commended)

The BREAwards 2020 Winners