Technology and policy relating to electric vehicles is developing rapidly across the globe. The UK, like numerous other countries, has introduced legislation to phase-out the sale of purely diesel and petrol cars by 2040 and numerous analysts anticipate that the pace of technological change may result in a electrified cars and vans becoming standard years before then.

Statement of purpose

The APPG was established in November 2017, and in March 2019 narrowed its focus and changed its name from APPG on Electric and Automated Vehicles to the APPG on Electric Vehicles.

The group aims to “engage parliamentarians interested in electric vehicles. The group will consider issues relating to manufacturing, energy supply, infrastructure requirements, and safety, amongst others. The group will also consider the impacts of automated vehicles, low carbon fuels and other forms of electric mobility. The APPG will bring together manufacturers, businesses, media, NGOs, and experts to share information, promote awareness, and debate future policy options.”

The REA provides the secretariat for the APPG, it supports the Chair and Officers in carrying out the work of the group. This includes managing enquiries and day-to-day administration, as well as the organisation of meetings and events.

If you would like to know more about the APPG on Electric Vehicles and its work please get in touch. Call Hayley Allen on 020 7925 3570 or email Hayley Allen.

NOTE: From the 6th November until after the General Election parliament is dissolved. This means all APPGs no longer exist. Former members of the APPG on Electric Vehicles intend to move to re-form the group following the election. 

Matt Western MP (Lab) – Chair

Matt Western brings over 25 years of first-hand experience in the automotive industry to the role along with a roster of high profile car manufacturers in his constituency including Jaguar Land Rover and Aston Martin. He is a strong advocate for renewable energy and clean technology both inside Parliament and out frequently championing renewables in the chamber and carrying out his own ‘net zero home’ project in his spare time.

Sharon Hodgson MP (Lab) – Vice Chair

Sharon Hodgson is the Shadow Public Health Minister and has expressed interest in transport and affordable energy.

Andrew Selous MP (Con) – Vice Chair

Andrew Selous is the Member of Parliament for South West Bedfordshire and sits on the Health Select Committee.

Dame Cheryl Gillan MP – Vice Chair

Dame Cheryl Gillan is the longest serving Conservative female MP currently in Parliament and was the first Chair of the APPG on Electric Vehicles.

Ian Austin MP (Lab) – Vice-Chair

Ian Austin is MP for Dudley North

Lord Teverson MP (Lib Dem) – Vice Chair

Lord Teverson is the Chair of the EU Energy and Environment Sub-Committee and the former Liberal Democrat Lords Principal Spokesperson for Energy and Climate Change and Transport.

Sir Bernard Jenkin MP (Con) – Vice Chair

Sir Bernard Jenkin is Member for Member for Harwich and North Essex and currently sits on the Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee, amongst others.

Anna McMorrin MP (Lab) – Vice Chair

Anna McMorrin was elected as MP for Cardiff North in June 2017 and sits on the Environmental Audit and Welsh Affairs Committees.

Alex Sobel MP (Lab) – Vice Chair

Alex Sobel is the MP for Leeds North West and has been a member of the Environmental Audit Committee since September 2017.

Members of the group include:

Jonathan Reynolds MP (Lab)

Peter Aldous MP (Con)

Alan Brown MP (SNP)

Sir Ed Davey MP (LibDem)

Scott Mann MP (Con)

Baroness Deech (Crossbench)

Alex Burghart MP (Con)

Greg Knight MP (Con)

Mark Pawsey MP (Con)

Stephen Metcalfe MP (Con)

John Woodcock MP (Lab/Coop)

Ranil Jayawardena MP (Con)

Nigel Evans MP (Con)

Jack Brereton MP (Con)

Simon Clarke MP (Con)

Hilary Benn MP (Lab)

Roger Godsiff MP (Lab)

Bill Wiggin (Con)

APPG event: Price Caps and Time-of-Use Tariffs, 20th May 2019

Past Events

Extraordinary General Meeting – 15 July 2019

Minutes from the meeting (EGM) can be found here.


Event: Price Caps and Time-of-use Tariffs – 20 May 2019

Speakers included:

Iagan MacNeil, Head of Policy and Communications, Smart Energy GB

Dr Stephen Hall, Research Fellow at the University of Leeds and author of Smart Energy GB’s report The Smart Route to Electric Vehicles

Clementine Cowton, Director of External Affairs, Octopus Energy

Simon Daniel, Chief Executive, Moixa

Chair: Rebecca Pow MP (Con)

Please email Hayley Allen at the REA with questions.

You can read the event summary here and download the slides here.


Annual General Meeting – 4 March 2019

Minutes from the meeting (AGM) can be found here.

Income and Expenditure Statement, Passed at AGM 2019 – can be found here.


Reception: Summer reception for the APPG on Electric and Automated Vehicles – 6th September 2018

Speakers included:

Daniel Brown, Policy Manager, REA

Clive Southwell, Manager UK, Allego

Fiona Howarth, CEO, Octopus Electric Vehicles

Stewart Reid, Head of Future Networks, SSEN and Chair of the Energy Networks Association’s Low Carbon Technology Working Group

The Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP (Con), Chair

View the parliamentary briefing on EVs prepared for the reception here.


Event: Tackling grid-related barriers to the mass adoption of electric vehicles – 1 March 2018

Speakers included:

Graeme Cooper, Director Electric Vehicles, National Grid

Mark Dale, Innovation and Low Carbon Networks Engineer, Western Power Distribution

Peter Stephens. Head, UK External & Government Affairs, Nissan

Chair: the Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP (Con)

Please email Daniel Brown at the REA with questions.

You can read the event summary here and download the slides via dropbox here.


Event: The global pace of change in electric vehicles – 5 December 2017

Speakers included:

Colin Mckerracher, Head of Advanced Transport at Bloomberg New Energy Finance

Mike Kerslake, Technical Manager at BYD

Kathryn Magnay, Head of Energy at the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

Natasha Robinson, Head of the Office of Low Emission Vehicles at the Department for Transport

Chair: the Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP (Con)

Notes from the event can be viewed online here, slides can be downloaded via dropbox here.


Inaugral Annual General Meeting – 16 November 2017

Notes from the founding meeting (AGM) can be read here.

Related News

BLOG — Jan 16, 2020

Guest Blog – Data-driven electric vehicle transition

Following on from the EV Energy Taskforce report launch, ElectraLink’s Gill Nowell reflects on next steps.

NEWS & PRESS RELEASES — Jan 14, 2020

REA comments on EV Energy Taskforce final report

REA comments on the EV Energy Taskforce’s final report and the 21 proposals to Government

NEWS & PRESS RELEASES — Jan 13, 2020

Mayor launches ‘London Power’

REA comments on the launch of London Power.

Related Events

London - Feb 12, 2020

Launch Reception: EV Consumer Code

A seminar on public charging interoperability in the UK for industry and government stakeholders.

London - Feb 07, 2020

Seminar: Roaming Across Britain’s Public EV Charging Networks

A seminar on public charging interoperability in the UK for industry and government stakeholders.

MEMBERS ONLY London - Feb 12, 2020

Smart Energy Members Forum – BOOK NOW

Smart Energy Members Forum 12.2.20

Related Resources


Jan 17, 2020

Challenges and Choices Consultation

The EA have launched a Challenges and Choices consultation focused on looking at how to protect the water environment.