• Winners announced at British Renewable Energy Awards;
  • The 18th Awards at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House Hotel hosted over 250 guests from across the industry;
  • Two winners named for the Judges’ Award;
  • Winners include VIRTA, Octopus Energy and SAS Energy

The Association for Renewable Energy and Clean Technology (REA) has announced the winners at the British Renewable Energy Awards ceremony. The 18th Awards, which took place on Friday, 23rd June at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House Hotel, saw an array of companies, projects and individuals that are paving the way in the renewable energy and clean tech sector.

This year we had two winners for the Judges’ Award, a rare occasion that two individuals have been chosen for this category. The judges felt the need to honour both The Right Hon. Chris Skidmore MP OBE, for his work on the Net Zero Review last year and Greg Jackson, CEO of Octopus Energy, for the leadership Octopus Energy showed in supporting their customers during the energy crisis.

For the second year in a row, the REA also recognised young and innovative research into the sector by running the Future Game Changers Award in collaboration with the Supergen Bioenergy Hub. Five PhD students presented their research, with the evening’s attendees invited to vote on the winner. We are pleased to announce that Priyanka Kumar, Imperial College London, won the award for her research into developing a circular economy for utilising waste produced during the beer brewing process. Thanks to award sponsors, Glennmont Partners from Nuveen, Priyanka won £2000 to go towards further development of her research.

The REA congratulates all those nominated, shortlisted, ‘highly-commended’ and the winners of this year’s Awards and thanks all of the sponsoring companies for their support.

Dr Nina Skorupska CBE, Chief Executive of the Association for Renewable Energy and Clean Technology (REA), said:

“Despite the industry facing a challenging year, the Awards have shown those who are resilient in the drive towards net zero. With the brilliant work showcased, we are truly inspired and energised to keep pushing forward towards a low carbon future.

“I would like to reiterate my thanks to all our incredible judges who had to make such difficult decisions in choosing winners from such a strong field of finalists this year.

 “We have so much to be proud of as an industry and we congratulate our winners and finalists.”


Notes to editors

The winners are as follows:

Judges’ Award

Political figure: The Rt Hon. Chris Skidmore MP OBE

Industrial figure: Greg Jackson, CEO of Octopus Energy

Future Game Changers Award

Winner: Priyanka Kumar, Imperial College London

Highly Commended: Collette Larkin, The University of Edinburgh

Accelerating to Net Zero 

Winner: Advanced Infrastructure Technology Ltd

Highly Commended: National Grid ESO


Winner: Ixora Energy


Winner: Low Carbon Hub


Winner: Solar Group Utilities

Highly Commended: GivEnergy

Customer Service Recognition 

Winner: Octopus Energy

Highly Commended: GENeco Ltd

Financial Leadership 

Winner: PPAYA Ltd


Winner: 3ti Energy Hubs Ltd

Highly Commended: KEW Technology and QVANTUM


Winner: Oxon Energy Ltd

Low Carbon Transport 

Winner: ubitricity

Highly Commended: Zero Petroleum


Winner: Biomass Connect

Highly Commended: Birmingham Women’s and Children’s NHS Foundation Trust



Highly Commended: Oxford Brookes University

Smart Energy System 

Winner: VIRTA

Highly Commended: GRIDSERVE


Winner: Eco Sustainable Solutions 

Young RE Professional

Winner: Amna Bezanty from KEW Technology

Highly Commended: Stevie Leeks from Privilege Finance and Ovie Frederick-Simon from Sunamp

Sponsoring companies:

DRAX, Glennmont Partners from Nuveen, ESO, EY, SUEZ, Hitachi Energy, Eaton, RECC and JCB.